Wednesday, March 28, 2018

2017-18 MBWA women's basketball award ballot

Voting for this year's MBWA All-Met awards is currently underway, with the winners to be announced on April 25 at the annual gala inside the Westchester Marriott in Tarrytown.

The women's awards are distributed in a rather unique manner, with a committee chaired by Doug Feinberg, the national women's basketball reporter for the Associated Press. However, if there were a formal ballot to be submitted, the awards would look something like this from the vantage point of this writer:

Player of the Year: G'mrice Davis, Fordham (16.5 PPG, 13.4 RPG)
Davis made the most of her senior season for head coach Stephanie Gaitley, completing her career at Rose Hill with a second straight year of averaging a double-double per game for a Rams team that won 24 games and reached the round of 16 in the Women's National Invitation Tournament. The Philadelphia native graduates this May, but she has left the foundation for a successful front line that helped average 37 team rebounds per night.

Rest of All-Met first team, in alphabetical order:
Samantha Cooper, Fairfield
Rebekah Hand, Marist
Tyler Scaife, Rutgers
Maya Singleton, St. John's
Camille Zimmerman, Columbia

All-Met second team, in alphabetical order:
Bre Cavanaugh, Fordham
Sierra Clark, Wagner
Alana Gilmer, Marist
Kayla Grimme, Manhattan
Madison Hovren, Army West Point

All-Met third team, in alphabetical order:
Kamila Hoskova, Rider
Shania Johnson, Stony Brook
Stella Johnson, Rider
Amani Tatum, Manhattan
DeAngelique Waithe, LIU Brooklyn

Rookie of the Year: Qadashah Hoppie, St. John's 
Also considered: Toyosi Abiola, Iona

Coach of the Year: Stephanie Gaitley, Fordham 
Also considered: C. Vivian Stringer, Rutgers; Brian Giorgis, Marist

No comments:

Post a Comment