Wednesday, June 12, 2013

Division I Coaching Longevity: Where Do The Locals Rank?

Jim Boeheim is still longest-tenured coach in nation after 37 years at Syracuse, but Stony Brook's Steve Pikiell holds that distinction among coaches in metropolitan area after eight years with Seawolves. (Photo courtesy of Stony Brook University)

We interrupt your relatively quiet offseason to bring you something that jumped out at us moments ago upon viewing it on Twitter. The great Patrick Stevens, formerly of the Washington Times and the one-man band (kind of like this site before its expansion in recent years) behind that we have unfortunately never met, outdid himself yet again this morning with the latest in a series of great pieces, this one ranking the tenures of each coach in Division I, from No. 1 (Jim Boeheim, who just wrapped up his 37th year at Syracuse) to No. 351. (Corey Williams of Stetson, who has hired just nine days ago) An avid stat guy whose research here is impeccable and extremely informative, Patrick noted several various nuggets before ultimately revealing the list, which can be seen in its entirety here. (on a side note, Patrick, we know you've done a great job covering Maryland in the past...hopefully you'll make the trip up to one of the home bases of Daly Dose headquarters to see the Terps at the Barclays Center on November 8th) Here are some others that we noticed while delving into this encyclopedic opus:

  • The median of the 351 coaches (No. 176 for those of you scoring at home) is Iona's Tim Cluess, who was of course hired in 2010. Therefore, half of the coaches in the nation have only been on the job at their current institution for three years or less, a telling statistic when it comes to coaching stability and those leaving smaller programs for a bigger opportunity elsewhere.
  • Of the ten longest-tenured coaches, eight of them have remained at mid-or low-majors. Only Boeheim and Duke's Mike Krzyzewski, who ranks second on the list, represent the seven high-major conferences. (yes, we're counting the American Athletic Conference as a high-major, primarily based on the fact that their membership comprised the old Big East football conference that got a BCS game every year)
  • With the Big East being restructured, the elder statesman in the now-10-team league is Villanova's Jay Wright, who checks in at No. 29 overall as he is about to enter his thirteenth campaign on the Main Line. When we spoke to Wright about this changing of the guard at Big East media day last year, he was shocked to admit that he was the dean of the locker room, reminiscing about how he would frequently ask Boeheim and Jim Calhoun for advice as a neophyte coach in one of the strongest basketball conferences in the nation.
  • In addition to Boeheim, this past year's Final Four coaches check in at 28th, (Louisville's Rick Pitino) tied for 96th, (John Beilein of Michigan) and 106th, where Wichita State head man Gregg Marshall resides on this coaching census.
  • Only ten of the 351 were at their current schools the last time a mid-major won a national championship, that being the Runnin' Rebels of UNLV in 1990.
Without any further ado, here are where the coaches of the teams we cover regularly rank, in order from longest-tenured to shortest, with their hire dates in parentheses:

62) Steve Pikiell, Stony Brook (April 13, 2005)
87) John Dunne, Saint Peter's (May 23, 2006)
142) Shaka Smart, Virginia Commonwealth (April 2, 2009)
T-161) Tom Pecora, Fordham (March 21, 2010)
T-164) Kevin Willard, Seton Hall (March 29, 2010)
T-168) Steve Lavin, St. John's (March 30, 2010)
176) Tim Cluess, Iona (April 8, 2010)
201) Glenn Braica, St. Francis College (May 20, 2010)
234) Steve Masiello, Manhattan (April 11, 2011)
T-324) Jimmy Patsos, Siena (April 4, 2013)
T-333) Jeff Bower, Marist; and Joe Mihalich, Hofstra (both hired April 10, 2013)

Here's where the rest of the coaches in the conferences we cover regularly rank:

Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference
87) John Dunne, Saint Peter's (May 23, 2006)
95) Tom Moore, Quinnipiac (March 29, 2007)
176) Tim Cluess, Iona (April 8, 2010)
T-217) King Rice, Monmouth (March 30, 2011)
T-224) Sydney Johnson, Fairfield (April 4, 2011)
234) Steve Masiello, Manhattan (April 11, 2011)
278) Jim Baron, Canisius (April 2, 2012)
T-300) Kevin Baggett, Rider (May 24, 2012)
T-324) Jimmy Patsos, Siena (April 4, 2013)
T-333) Jeff Bower, Marist (April 10, 2013)
341) Chris Casey, Niagara (April 22, 2013)

Atlantic 10
14) Phil Martelli, Saint Joseph's (July 20, 1995)
52) Dr. John Giannini, La Salle (August 23, 2004)
65) Chris Mooney, Richmond (May 6, 2005)
104) Mark Schmidt, St. Bonaventure (April 10, 2007)
T-128) Derek Kellogg, Massachusetts (April 23, 2008)
142) Shaka Smart, Virginia Commonwealth (April 2, 2009)
T-161) Tom Pecora, Fordham (March 21, 2010)
T-224) Archie Miller, Dayton (April 4, 2011)
243) Paul Hewitt, George Mason (April 30, 2011)
246) Mike Lonergan, George Washington (May 6, 2011)
264) Dan Hurley, Rhode Island (March 21, 2012)
T-285) Jim Ferry, Duquesne (April 10, 2012)
305) Jim Crews, Saint Louis (August 24, 2012)

Big East
29) Jay Wright, Villanova (March 27, 2001)
49) John Thompson III, Georgetown (April 20, 2004)
T-98) Brad Stevens, Butler (April 4, 2007)
T-119) Buzz Williams, Marquette (April 8, 2008)
153) Chris Mack, Xavier (April 14, 2009)
T-164) Kevin Willard, Seton Hall (March 29, 2010)
T-168) Steve Lavin, St. John's (March 30, 2010)
173) Oliver Purnell, DePaul (April 6, 2010)
T-194) Greg McDermott, Creighton (April 26, 2010)
207) Ed Cooley, Providence (March 22, 2011)

Northeast Conference
16) Howie Dickenman, Central Connecticut State (April 17, 1996)
133) Tim O'Shea, Bryant (June 23, 2008)
200) Andy Toole, Robert Morris (May 11, 2010)
201) Glenn Braica, St. Francis College (May 20, 2010)
T-266) Jamion Christian, Mount St. Mary's; and Bashir Mason, Wagner (both hired March 26, 2012)
T-285) Jack Perri, LIU Brooklyn (April 10, 2012)
T-291) Rob Krimmel, Saint Francis University (April 19, 2012)
T-344) Greg Herenda, Fairleigh Dickinson (April 26, 2013)
350) Anthony Latina, Sacred Heart (May 30, 2013)

Missouri Valley
71) Ben Jacobson, Northern Iowa (March 22, 2006)
91) Marty Simmons, Evansville (March 15, 2007)
106) Gregg Marshall, Wichita State (April 14, 2007)
202) Greg Lansing, Indiana State (June 15, 2010)
T-212) Geno Ford, Bradley (March 27, 2011)
221) Paul Lusk, Missouri State (April 1, 2011)
T-226) Porter Moser, Loyola (Illinois) (April 5, 2011)
270) Barry Hinson, Southern Illinois (March 28, 2012)
T-297) Dan Muller, Illinois State (May 8, 2012)
T-316) Ray Giacoletti, Drake (March 27, 2013)

No comments:

Post a Comment