Tuesday, April 22, 2014

Severe, Frazier Capture All-Met Honors For Fordham

Jon Severe validates hype and decision to choose Fordham with MBWA All-Met Rookie of the Year award. Branden Frazier added to Ram honors with selection to second team. (Photo courtesy of the Atlantic 10 Conference)

When Jon Severe signed with Fordham, the Brooklyn sharpshooter felt he could "change the whole program around." Head coach Tom Pecora wasted little time declaring the obvious by saying the former Christ the King standout would "make a huge difference" for the Rams.

Both player and coach were vindicated by their boasts this morning, when it was announced that Severe was recognized by the Metropolitan Basketball Writers' Association as its All-Met Rookie of the Year, awarded after a freshman campaign in which the 2013 Mr. Basketball in the state of New York averaged 17.3 points per game and led Fordham with 79 three-pointers.

Severe is the fourth Ram to win top freshman honors since the award was first presented in 1981, and the second in the last five years, as Chris Gaston also earned this distinction in 2010. He is also the second Pecora recruit to win the award, following Charles Jenkins of Hofstra, who was selected Rookie of the Year in 2008 before winning three consecutive Haggerty Awards from 2009 to 2011 for the Pride.

Fordham's freshman sensation was not the only one bringing a piece of hardware back to Rose Hill, however, as Branden Frazier capped off his final year as a Ram with a spot on the writers' All-Met second team on the heels of a senior season where he once again led the team in scoring, at 18.2 points per game to supplement an average of over four assists per contest. It is Frazier's first career MBWA recognition after narrowly missing a spot on the third team last season.

D'Angelo Harrison of St. John's captured the Haggerty Award as the metropolitan area's best player, becoming the first member of the Red Storm to win that prize since Marcus Hatten in 2002. Manhattan's Steve Masiello, who lost to the Rams in November, was selected as the MBWA Coach of the Year for the second time in three seasons after leading the Jaspers to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2004.

No comments:

Post a Comment